Time for another rant

As you can tell from the above Halo video, some people have too much time on their hands.  I would normally say people like me, but who am I kidding, I’m in the Fire in the Night Internship……. other than sunday, I haven’t got much time.  But I do have people from all over the place with…. uhm….. different kinds of humor.  Amazingly, just because a joke is funny in the US doesn’t mean it makes for much hilarity in the mind of a foreigner.  For some reason, the American and the Aussie found the phrase “Dutch Cheese” really funny….. and the Dutch guy didn’t.  I wish I knew what it was about humor, but it just doesn’t translate really well. Take this quote from an American film translated into Japanese: “Ya-ha, Evil Spiderwoman, I have now captured you by the short rabbits and can now deliver you to your doctor for a thorough extermination.”  Huh?  Just from that, you can’t tell what movie it is, or even what they meant to say.  It’s times like that that make me appreciate the 3 Stooges a little more.  No words, just “comedy.” Jay Leno said that one of the main differences between men and women is that men find the three stooges funny and women don’t… I think it’s more of a personality thing.  Myself, I find a guy slapping another guy over the head to the sound of crunching celery really funny…….. a somewhat more intelligent person probably wouldn’t.  I will never really understand why funny stuff is funny.

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on April 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
