The Scary Bit.

So I was talking to someone about the justification for Hell.  Namely, how could burning for all eternity be “fair” if someone told one lie just once.  Now first, humanity in general has a skewed view of what “fair” actually means.  We still think in the whole “eye for an eye” thing… which to some degree is good, because it is true.  The thing to remember is that God’s eye is much, much bigger than our own.  God is inifintely good and Holy, so by comparison all of our sins are infinitely evil.  Tozer said “because God is infinite, he is no bigger in proportion to the caterpillar as He is to the human.”  So now imagine how anything to the left of the Sin/Righteousness spectrum looks when God is infinitely to the right on the same scale.  Burning for all eternity is just and equal to the sin in God’s eyes. 

But I will admit, this got me thinking (a dangerous hobby at best…)  What about myself? 

I’ve been a good kid… I haven’t gotten anybody pregnant, I never did drugs, never snuck out and got hammered drunk…  But then I got honest…  The Ten Commandments (the real ones, not the ones I made up in my previous posts) don’t leave much room for argument.

1. Have I ever placed more importance on something else than I did on God?  Yes.  Ouch

2. Have I ever been more devoted to a thing than I was to God?  Yes.  Ouch

3. Have I taken God’s name in vain?  More than likely… ouch

4. Sabbath is a lengthy discussion… maybe I will have it sometime.

5. Have I ever dishonered my parents?  Definite yes.  Ouch.

6. Have I killed anybody?  No!  Oh wait… “if anyone hates his brother without cause, he has already commited murder….”  dang… ouch.

7.  Have I committed adultery?  No!  Oh wait… “if anyone looks to a woman to lust after her, he has already committed adultery with her in his heart…” dang… ouch

8. Have I stolen anything?  That baseball card when I was 6… ouch

9. Have I lied?  A multitude of times.  Ouch

10.  Have I ever wanted what someone else had?  Yes… ouch.

Without going in depth on the Sabbath, I have broken 9 of the 10 commandments by the time I am 20 years old… and where I come from, 9 out of 10 is an “A-“.  So I am an A- sinner… if a passing grade was 50% I failed miserably.  I’m starting to identify with the “Chief of Sinners” thing.  This is why the sacrifice of Jesus is so all-important.  By taking forgiveness we take on the righteousness of God himself.  Meaning, not only is Hell justifiably Justice, but so is Heaven.  The sacrifice of Jesus and the forgivness of sins makes all the difference in the world… in a world that needs more of them.

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on November 6, 2007.

One Response to “The Scary Bit.”

  1. And I say… ouch…

Leave a Reply

 
