You Know You’re Sick When…

You know you’re sick when you go home, sleep for 14 hours, and still don’t want to get out of bed.  For those who didn’t know, I’ve been pretty ill for the past week, and last night it all came to a head.  I was running a fever, coughing my head off, I had no energy (like, I could barely keep my head up, no energy), and I was amazingly ticked off.  To give a little bit of context, I had just watched a movie three days ago, and I was feeling major conviction at the thought of taking care of myself.

Yeah, this past week I watched “Fearless”, what was supposedly Jet Li’s “last martial arts epic” (bs… The Kingdom is still coming out this year).  Short synopsis, there’s a Chinese guy (Jet Li) at the turn of the 20th century.  This dude is major into WuShin karate.  His goal is to make his family dominant in all of China because of their mastery of WuShin.  As we progress through the movie, this Chinese dude achieves a higher level of evolutionary consciousness and decides that he should teach his form to other people as a way to unify the country (remembering that at this point China was still sparse territories under the British Empire).  So you sit through all of this movie (with some amazing fight sequences), and you finally get to the last fight…  During this fight, the evil Empirialists poison little Chinese dude… and yet he still stands and takes the fight all three rounds… coughing up blood and getting the green tea kicked out of him the whole way. (Note: this film is supposedly based on a true story… I dunno)

 So now you flash forward to last night.  After watching this movie, I was determined that no matter how sick I was, I was going to stick around for all of my hours in the Prayer Room.  After all, if some chinese dude could take fifteen minutes of being poisoned and pounded in the face because of his devotion to a martial art, I should have no problem being in the prayer room… wrong.  I had a couple of people come over to me and ask “are you alright”?  Of course the answer was no, but I tried to play it off (stupid).  Finally, when debrief started, I told Jill that I was going to go home because I was sick…  I got home at 2:15-ish… I didn’t get out of bed until 6:45 PM today.  Somehow, I think I needed to sleep.

So now, my back is sore because I slept on it for 14 hours, I’ve got a headache because of coughing so much… but I don’t have a fever, and I’ve actually got some energy today.

Pray for me… hopefully things will continue to get better before class on Monday.

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on January 13, 2008.

One Response to “You Know You’re Sick When…”

  1. praying….

Leave a Reply

 
