A very telling quote.

As I have stated in a couple of my other posts, I really like the “Tag Surfer” here on wordpress.  It lets me see what other people are thinking about the stuff I’m thinking about.  Sometimes they agree with me, more often than not, they don’t.  However, while I was looking at the tag surfer, I came across this quote… I think it’s very telling in the race we currently have….

Quote:

The way I see it, I can’t hop on the bandwagon of voting for whos most likely to get into office because I want to be able to stand proud and say, if and when my candidate gets elected into office,

“Hey… guess what… I voted for that son of a b****.”

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For the curious who might be living under a rock (or in the IHOP bubble for that matter), FOXNews and CNN have both called the Georgia Democrat race for Obama and the West Virginia GOP primary for Huckabee.  C’mon Mikey!!

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on February 5, 2008.

5 Responses to “A very telling quote.”

  1. Oh Adam. Isn’t it pitiful that vulgarity passes as substantive political discourse?

    I’m pretty conservative, and finding it really hard to be excited (in a positive way) about any of the candidates, including Mike. I’ll probably hold my nose and vote for someone, but I haven’t found any of them very persuasive.

    Why does the president matter? Somehow the president seems to have the power to deprive us individually of our rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. The President can regulate the availability of medicine and designate arbitrary fuel economy and efficiency standards. He/She can appoint judges who’ll approve of infantacide, tear society apart to acheive social engineering goals, and commandeer property for no compensation. The president can interfere in markets, change the terms of contracts and investments, and alter the value of American money around the world. The president can order the detention of U.S. citizens without charges or redress. The president can make us stop smoking, buy insurance, recycle, etc., etc., etc.

    The president can send us all a check, but drawn on our own bank accounts – how stupid are we?

    The dilemma, however, has an obvious conservative solution. What is needed is to cut the government way back to its original constitutional limits. The president, whomever it may be, can command the military, negotiate treaties, and appoint judges as much as they want – as long as they keep their grubby little fingers out of the national pocketbook. It stops being so important who they are. The federal government should be strong enough to protect our borders, and too weak to materially change our lives or behavior.

    I have the uncomfortable feeling that all of the current candidates for president (including/especially Ron Paul) are equally eager to have “the power”, to “create change” – all codewords for doing something they want at the expense of my liberty.

    Sorry, I’m just not all that enthused about the prospect.

    Maybe it’s not so hard to see why vulgar talk is such a part of the debate….

  2. Heh… that’s why I said it was a “telling quote”. The one thing I can openly agree with Ron Paul about is that the Federal Government is too involved in our daily lives. Unfortunately that agreement isn’t enough to make me vote for the man. As I described on a different blog, my opinion of Ron Paul is that he is a small, strange man who dreams of one day being taken seriously by the grown-ups.

    I would love it if we could slice up the Federal Government to the size it was under the Constitution (back before the 1860’s), but I don’t think it’s actually possible. The reason I don’t is because so much of the electorate has either become too dependent on the Government to function apart from it (ie, welfare), or they have been indoctrinated into the belief that if you want to cut spending on “crutch programs” you are somehow “bigoted and uncaring”.

    As for the individual candidates, I think Mike Huckabee is the only one that doesn’t worry me. Specifically, I’m not worried that he will turn into a TOTAL freak in the White House like McCain, Obama, Clinton, Romney, or Ron Paul would. Maybe I’m just prejudiced because Huckabee is an ordained minister, or maybe I’m overly influenced by the people I know that lived in Arkansas while Huckabee was governor (to be noted, they loved Huckabee)… whatever the actual cause, I think Mike Huckabee is the least worrisome of the lot of candidates.

  3. So now it’s apparently down to McCain, Huckabee, and Paul.
    *sigh*

    I suppose we could try to draft Buchanon, Forbes, or even Ann Coulter…

  4. Didn’t Alan Keyes say he was running as well?
    I wonder what ever happened to that?

    I don’t think he has any delegates to date…

  5. Uhm, I don’t think Alan Keyes is on the ballot… I didn’t see his name in Missouri, anyway.

    I would love it if Ann Coulter, Condoleeza Rice, or Newt Gingrich decided to run. Unfortunately, I think they would be too “polarizing” to get elected. I’m glad Romney is gone, though…

Leave a Reply

 
