I have wordnerd tendencies…

What can I say?  Some stuff is genetic, I guess.  So we just started a new class at FSM… titled Mystical Life of Communion.  Now, let me say right off the bat that Stephen Veneble is a heck of a teacher.  He’s one of the few at IHOP that actually manages to make it all the way through his notes a good portion of the time.  But even while he is chugging through the notes, he still makes the information understandable, interesting, and on the right level for his audience.  The thing I have discovered about myself is that I get tickled on the inside when it comes to big words.  For example, an extra credit question on my quiz from yesterday was to use the word “ineffable” in a sentance related to the course material.  I was delighted to oblige.  The day before, the bonus question had been to define the word “slake”.  From asking just a few people around me, most got it wrong.  I didn’t.  I’m cool like that.

My sister is an amazing wordnerd… a scrabble nightmere, if you will.  I, on the other hand, have always sucked hardcore at scrabble.  I love big words, I love archaic words, I love words that nobody else knows what the heck they mean… and yet I have always stunk at scrabble.  You would think having something of abnormally large vocabulary would help… it doesn’t.  It usually happens whenever I play scrabble, that I end up with seven consonants or seven vowels for half the game…  So I put down “dog” on a triple letter score for five points, and the person I’m playing with takes my G and makes “globetrotter” on a triple word score and gets a mondo-zillion-bucketload of points for it.  So I’m officially a luckless geek with wordnerd tendencies.

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on February 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “I have wordnerd tendencies…”

  1. Your mom and I both have a good command of a large vocabulary, but you unfortunately seem to have inherited spelling proclivities from me: sentence, for example, has no ‘a’ (but I had to look it up to be sure)

    However, I would have joined your peers in both not knowing any definition of slake, and not using ineffable correctly in a sentence. You so rock!

  2. I knew we would finally lure you over to the dark side. May the vis major be with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
