Comfort one another.

For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who sleep in Jesus.  For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord will by no means precede those who are asleep.  For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first.  Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord.  Therefore comfort one another with these words.– Apostle Paul in 1 Thessalonians 4

A life wasted on God is a life well spent.  As offensive as it may seem to reduce someone’s life to a few short lines on a page… it is the best medium I’ve got to define this occasion.  My Grandmother has passed away during the night, and I’m having mixed emotions.  It is difficult to believe that a person who has just kind of been there no longer is.  If this post is a little disconnected and hard to follow, I apologize in advance.

My Grandmother was born into a German Mennonite family (as in, her family spoke German), and she was sharp as a tack from the day she was born.  Her family didn’t teach her to speak German, because that way they could talk about how much trouble she was in without her knowing.  So the woman learned to understand German… at age 6 she knew what they were saying about her, and had the good sense not to tell anyone.

As a young woman, my grandmom had a bad accident, rendering one of her hands paralyzed and one leg shattered.  The doctors didn’t think she would walk again.  Of course she had to prove them wrong.  For well more than forty years she walked with a bulky brace on her knee and a severe limp… but she walked.

 There are some things that I specifically remember from the few times I actually met her.  She loved puzzles… Jigsaw puzzles, to be exact.  She was extremely patient… I’m thinking particularly when my quirky cousin and myself were busy pitching pieces of the croquet set over the neighbor’s house.  She enjoyed writing… when we went to visit them, she was transcribing the book of Genesis because the geneologies gave her practice with her handwriting.  Most importantly, she loved my father and her husband dearly.

Now?  She doesn’t limp around with a brace anymore.  She can use her hand again.  She sees Jesus face to face.  In some ways, I’m almost jealous of her.  However, in just a little while, Jesus is returning… and He will bring with Him those who have passed on.  So I say, I will see her again on that day… when the curse is removed, death and sorrow are no more, and all the wrong things have been made right.

Revelation 22- And he showed me a pure river of water of life, clear as crystal, proceeding from the throne of God and of the Lamb.  In the middle of its street, and on either side of the river, was the tree of life, which bore twelve fruits, each tree yielding its fruit every month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.  And there shall be no more curse, but the throne of God and of the Lamb shall be in it, and His servants shall serve Him.  They shall see His face, and His name shall be on their foreheads…… He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming quickly.” Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus!  The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

Adam

PS, this post is dedicated to my Father (Brian Douglas Beattie) and my Grandfather (Forrest Beattie)

In loving memory… we will see her again.

~ by xristosdomini on March 20, 2008.

4 Responses to “Comfort one another.”

  1. […] Stuff and Life Happens… I hardly know how to write a fitting follow up to my brother’s excellent post, but I’m going to share a little bit of my heart on this […]

  2. Adam, this was a beautiful tribute to your grandmother. You and your family are in my prayers.

  3. Than you very much. It’s been a difficult time… especially for my parents.

  4. Well written, well said. Thanks, Adam

Leave a Reply

 
