Free indeed…

I guess there are a couple of different things that I could say within this post, but I think the most pressing one is talking about freedom brought about by breaking the hold of sin.  I realize that doesn’t narrow the topic very much, but it’s a start.

So I was on my lunch break during my workday, and I went down the street to Mickey D’s… it’s relatively fast, it isn’t the most expensive burger you can find, and the atmosphere is usually pretty good (they show FoxNews on the tele at this one).  However, I found something unusual today.  First off, it was a saturday night… come to find out there just aren’t that many people cruising for a McDonalds burger at 7:45 PM (long story, don’t ask).  So there was almost nobody in there for the food.  However, because this particular chain has had the brilliant idea of adding a video rental service at their joints, there was a crowd of people milling about to look at the available titles.  I was intrigued by the idea that all of these people were lining up, many of them to get movies they didn’t actually have any interest in prior to approaching the machine, so they could plunk down a dollar and blow an entire evening on nothing.

I was struck by the scene in front of me.  I started thinking…  this is just a small cross-section of people in the Kansas City area, but it is so telling of the state of humanity.  It’s a weekend, what are we going to do with ourselves?  Because my mind is being renewed by God (Romans 12 and 13), I have been set free from my own propensity to do things that may be “permissible, but not beneficial”.  How many people in our country are locked into their habits to the point that they have no choice what to do with their weekend except get drunk, drugged, partied, bored watching the tripe Hollywood calls entertainment, or some combination of all the above?  On the other hand, you have those who have been set free from the sin nature…  we have the choice to spend the weekend communing with the One who created the world and loves us more than our television can ever dream of.  I don’t have to go out and get crunked on the weekend, because I can go into the prayer room and encounter God.

This is the lot of a bondservant.  One who was a slave is set free, and then chooses to serve their master for the rest of their life.  Because Jesus set me free from my former master (my sin nature), I then have the freedom to chose this day whom I will serve.  However, the rest of the world I see is bound to their seeking of temporal pleasures… pleasures that fade in time and leave strange aches and pains when they do fade.  Until redemption, we truly are slaves of the laws of sin and death… and where the law enters the desire to sin abounds.  It would seem that the law has a sense of irony, because it is only when we have been set free from it that we can truly follow the spirit of it.

Adam

~ by xristosdomini on May 11, 2008.

One Response to “Free indeed…”

  1. well said…

Leave a Reply

 
