Genius! Not…

Okay, so… two weeks of my first class are in the books (hence the lack of posts recently).  **didja catch the pun?!**  To that end, my first big assignment is looming… and I have picked a real bummer of a paper to write.  It sounded so simple last week…

So yes, I need to write a 9-13 page exegetical paper between now and next Sunday… with practically zilch on the help-meter from the normal Bible study tools.  You know, the basics… such as Commentaries.  To make things interesting, I decided I was going to pick a piece of palatable yet not purely platonic literature… perhaps Peter would make a good choice (pardon the alliteration)?  But no… I had to go with John 1:1-5.  Sounds brilliant, right?  All kinds of theological goodies to be found in those five verses, right, RIGHT?!  Apparently not.  In just about every commentary I have happened to pick through, they take verses 1-5, lump them in with verses 6-18, say some short blurblet about how this is the introduction that sets the stage for the rest of the book by showing that Jesus was in fact God… and then MOVE ON!  Barnes’, the NAC, the Sacra Pagina, all of them… “This is important… and now for something completely different!  A man with a tape recorder up his nose…”  Stay tuned… me and HS gonna have some fun with this one, I’m sure.

 

Adam

 

 

 

(And now, a man with a tape recorder up his brother’s nose…)

~ by xristosdomini on August 24, 2008.

One Response to “Genius! Not…”

  1. Wow. I can’t imagine throwing away John 1: 1-5 as “introduction”. You could meditate forever on just those verses and never get to the depth of what they say. I love the poetry of the language, first off. Then, to realize that behind all that poetic language is a very literal truth is stunning. Do I get to read what you come up with? I bet it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
