Going Postal…

So… Right now I am in the class formerly known as “Systematic Theology”.  What that means is basically I am subjecting myself to a selective flogging of my “golden cows”.  If you need help with the reference, look at Israel leaving Egypt… you get my idea.

So far I’m enjoying the class well enough.  But if you are wondering why my blog has been a touch… sporatic… recently, it is because I’m having to chew through about five hours of homework a day and three hours of class.  Add that to the prayer room hours I have to/get to do, and it adds up to a pretty full schedule.  I’m sure once this semester is over I will blog more often, so hang in there… one week left!

However, since we are on the subject of school, I should probably mention that I am already contemplating next school year.  While it may seem early, I have to actually declare for a program next year, so it is weighing on my mind.  Right now I’m leaning in two directions.  I can either go with Biblical Studies (my original plan) and spend a lot of time with my nose in books written by dead people, or I can go to the Justice Institute (**insert angelic choir) and try to raise $3000 by June for a mandatory trip to Thailand.  Both have their pros and cons (Learn greek and read a lot or get massively impacted by God and go broke), but right now I’m torn between the two. 

Airfare is insane.  I remember way back in the day Southwest Airlines used to have this deal that if you booked 60 days in advance you could go almost anywhere for about sixty bucks.  Now, if you get from point (A) to point (B) for less than a hundred, you’re either a hijacker or you’re in the mafia.  I almost wonder from time to time if it wouldn’t be cheaper to mail myself somewhere.

You ever notice that the mail service seems way more interesting in the post office than it does at home?  Whn you walk into the post office, there are signs hanging everywhere of stuff that you shouldn’t send through the mail.  If you are intending to airmail an AK-47, high-grade explosives, or a stray Mexican… send it Fed-Ex.  I mean, who in their right mind tries to mail fireworks anyway?  The government is good enough at catching mail bombs, firecrackers just seem like tempting fate.

Fireworks are truly the All-American celebration.  I mean, in the Middle East they just fire their guns straight up in the air.  Us, not only do we shoot stuff straight up into the air, but it blows up AND looks pretty.  While some may think fireworks are a panzification (the act of making someone a pansy) of the American male, I think it is a nice half-way step into manhood.  We get to blow stuff up with minimal risk of actually loosing a foot or, say, a pinky.  After all, we ain’t gonna let ourselves be outdone by some desert-dwelling towel-heads any day of the week, is we?!

For you poor souls still holding out hope… no, this post doesn’t have much of a point.  That is what makes it fun.

Adam

………………………….. And Now….. The POINT!      

 

 

 

<^>

~ by xristosdomini on December 2, 2008.

5 Responses to “Going Postal…”

  1. “I can either go with Biblical Studies (my original plan) and spend a lot of time with my nose in books written by dead people, or I can go to the Justice Institute (**insert angelic choir) and try to raise $3000 by June for a mandatory trip to Thailand. Both have their pros and cons (Learn greek and read a lot or get massively impacted by God and go broke), but right now I’m torn between the two.”

    So, how come you can’t get massively impacted by God by reading alot and learning Greek? The Biblical Studies tract will help hide the word in your heart with much more impact than a fleeting “vacation” will. Then that will provide much more fruit in later mission operations that will arise here and abroad.

    Anyway…that’s my 2 cents about it.

    I’m sorry, what is the point? Soli Deo Gloria.

    That’s the point.

  2. Wow – would you please post a whiplash alert when you’re going to do those sudden subject changes? *geez*, I think I sprained something…

  3. I gotta admit, I really like the idea of the Biblical Studies program… but going to on a ministry trip to Thailand to help a ministry that helps human trafficking victims sounds pretty worthwile… and justice is one of those subjects that makes my heart sing.

    So yeah, I’m pretty evenly split down the middle about what I want to do next year.

  4. Oh, and for what it is worth, every change in topic is loosely related to something I said in the paragraph directly above it. Usually, these connections are only one sentence or phrase, but there is a flow to it, I promise.

  5. i rather enjoy post office trips. i always stumbled upon some of the most fascinating people there. AND, if perchance no one fascinating is about, i can simply read about our local convicts on the barrier table (thank you grandview and hickman mills…haha…).

    oh, and don’t mail yourself anywhere. it’s a federal crime. that’s pretty darn costly. i mean, holidays at home by flight or holidays in a prison cell with a guy who keeps calling you brenda. your call.

Leave a Reply

 
