Greetings from Columbia!

Hey all!  If you have been following my blog at all, you know that I am out of the country right now.  As surreal as that is to say, I´m having a great time.  The skyline (even for dirty, run down buildings) is absolutely amazing.  Between the slightly-less-than-average housing developements, the mountains, and the mostly overcast sky, this has to be one of the prettiest places I have ever visited.

We got through the airports and customs mostly without incident (although I thought the customs lady had asked me if I was a terrorist when she had actually said tourist) and drove straight from the airport to the Seminary we are staying at during our trip.  We´ve had some great team bonding moments (gas attacks in poorly ventillated rooms have that effect) and I´m looking forward to really getting  into the swing of things starting tomorrow (we have to be up at 8 AM to go visit a cancer center).  I have seen things and experienced things that I wouldn´t have anywhere else (like a ten-year-old trying to pick my empty pockets), and I can already tell that I am going to be wrecked up for a while when I get back.

It has been a difficult adjustment not having a cellphone or a convenient computer to check my over-flowing e-mail, but I´m adjusting.  On the one hand, it feels really nice to live in slower paced environment.  On the other, there are people that I am missing from back home that I can´t wait to give a huge hug when I get off the plane.  That being said, I´m learning a lot (in three days, no less!), I am understanding a lot more Spanish than I thought I would (take that, mom!), and I´m really looking forward to jumping in the local prayer room later today.  That´s all for now, and I´ll have another post when I return to the states!

Adam

posted from Camil@.net cafe in Bogota, Columbia.

~ by xristosdomini on July 6, 2009.

One Response to “Greetings from Columbia!”

  1. Dude. I told you not to wear your balaclava through customs. 😉

    Glad your trip is going well, and I can’t wait to hear all about it when you get home (and I’m expecting one of those huge hugs coming off the plane).

Leave a Reply

 
